My personal statement and useful links

The other day, I blogged about how I was struggling to write my personal statement for my CV. (Click here for the post.) Yesterday, I finally finished it.

I began the process by putting together all the personal statements I’d written so far and selected the parts that I liked and wanted to build on.

One that I found was:

I’m a creative advertising student in the North East of England, with skills in both art direction and copywriting.

Over the years, I have come to love everything about advertising: the energy, the call for creativity, the stress that leads to sleepless nights, and the joy of discovering just the right idea.

I am also captivated by the power of the media. Advertising is a part of our daily life. It is an art form that people live with. And since we cannot avoid it, I would like to help make it at least pleasant to live with.

My life-long plan is to gain experiences from working in the advertising industry from around the world.

I love traveling and am fascinated by different cultures. I’m a thespian and a dancer. Food is my passion. Observing people is my hobby. I like psychology, and I read literature and poetry just for fun.

Another was a little longer, which was the one I wrote when applying to UCAS. Click here to read it.

After reading, selecting, deleting, and rewriting, this is what I arrived at:

Captivated by the power of media, exhilarated by the energy, and head over heels in love with the call for creativity, I am taking my first few steps towards the creative industry, ready for the stressful and sleepless nights.

Last year, I, not knowing what I wanted, moved from my comfortable home in Thailand to the UK in hope that the Creative Advertising course at Newcastle College was going to improve my educational and personal character, and lead me to the path that was right for me.

During the summer break after my first year, I went back home to Bangkok for a three-month internship program in the Brand Management department in one of the biggest companies in ASEAN. Even though I had learned immensely from the internship, I realized, after engaging in so much public relations work, that I missed generating creativity and being stressed over it. This realization confirmed my career choice and reassures me that I am stepping in the right direction.

I now am heading towards the end of the second year. I have thought so much about the future, but everything is still a blur. One thing I know for sure is that I want to do everything that promises me a place in the advertising industry.

I have recently accepted an offer from Northumbria University to finish my bachelor in Media and Advertising, and now am looking for more work experience to enrich my skills and potentials.

I enjoy trying and learning new things, exploring new possibilities, and occasionally getting hurt along the way.

My life-long plan is to gain both professional and personal experiences from working in the advertising industry in various countries around the globe, as I love traveling and am fascinated by different cultures. I want to see and experience as much as I can before I settle down in one place.

Which I thought was way too long and sounded too much like a covering letter.

So I cut out a lot of it and summarized it even further.

I went back to read the reference that my current tutor wrote for me. Click here to read it. Then I made a list of the positive attributes he mentioned in the reference:

  • Devoted
  • Committed
  • Dedicated
  • Mature
  • Confident
  • Self-motivated
  • Thoughtful
  • Well-mannered
  • Creative thinking
  • Presentation skills

Then I thought of ways to exhibit those attributes without having to mention it, as I didn’t want it to sound too obvious and generic.

So I wrote down:

I have been trained to apply creative thinking to solving briefs and life problems, while developing my presentation skills.

I have had work experience as a brand manager during a three-month internship.

Captivated by the power of media, exhilarated by the energy, and head over heels in love with the call for creativity, I am taking my first few steps towards the creative industry, ready for the stressful and sleepless nights.

I kind of liked what I had now. It’s short, concise, and covers most of the things I wanted to say.

But it sounds boring. So I rewrote it again. And this is what I arrived at:

A young creative, ready to find joy in the stressful days and sleepless nights of the advertising industry. Well-trained by Newcastle College to apply creative thinking to solving problems and to pretend to be comfortable with client presentations. Equipped with industry experience as a brand manager during a summer internship. Captivated by the power of media, exhilarated by the energy, and head over heels in love with the call for creativity.

Which is what I have decided to use in my CV.

Finally, here are the links of useful site I found along the way:

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

