IT session on Photoshop

Yesterday we had an IT session on different tools on Photoshop. I found it pretty interesting and the exercises were kind of fun.

We were given four imperfect pictures and we had to apply the knowledge gained from class to edit them.

The tools used include masking, levels, hue, saturation, curves, and the use of layers.

This is the first picture and obviously it is too dull and dark. We were supposed to make the image look livelier and make the grass greener, as if it was for an insurance ad.

So I adjusted the levels to make the image look sharper by creating contrast between the whitest and the darkest parts of the image. Then I increased the saturation to make the overall image look livelier. Then I adjusted the curve (the green one) to make the grass look really green. However, with the last tool, it made the whole image too green, so I selected the brush tool and use black color the paint out the parts that I didn’t want to turn green. If I did too much of that, I could always change the color of the paint brush into white and edit my mistake.

This is how it turned out.

The second picture is too red, yellow, and bright.

I adjusted the curves (red and blue ones) to make the image less red and yellow. Then I adjusted the levels to make the image less bright. And this is how it turned out.

The next picture is too white so the process was very simple. I simply adjusted the levels and curves.

Before:

After:

The last picture is a little tricky. The color is totally off and our task is to make the colors turn back to the real American flag colors.

The process turned out to be easier and simpler than I thought. I simply adjusted the hue to make the colors look right. Then I adjusted the levels to make the image sharper.

I really enjoyed playing around with curves because there are so many things you can do. It might be a little difficult to grasp in the beginning, but after playing around with it for a while, you will start to understand it.

One thing that I learned from this IT session was how much you could do with masking.

I had always known about how you should create a new layer of adjustment, instead of adjusting on the image itself. This means that you can always delete the layer if you dislike any changes you’ve done, so you can feel free to adjust anything you that want.

But what I didn’t know was that you can adjust the adjustment itself. For example, if you want to change the hue of only the person but not the background, you simply create the adjustment layer and adjust all the thing that you want, then you select the paint brush tool in black color and paint over the parts that you want to stay the same. That will erase all the effects the adjustment layer has on your original image. If you feel you’ve erased too much, you can change the color of the paint brush into white and paint over it.

Overall, I enjoyed the IT session and I’m glad that I learned about the masking thing because I believe it will come in very handy one day.

Leave a Reply

