Business card

We had a PPD session on business cards a while ago. I think it was the same session we discussed about personal branding. Our task was to come back and make our own business card, whose theme is supposed to be according to our logo and website.

So I created my own logo (which is very simple) and rebranded my personal website (oeilsj.com). But I had never really gotten to make my business card yet.

So a business card basically (usually) consists of:

  • Logo
  • Name
  • Occupation
  • Contact details (personal website, email, phone number, address)

The design and layout should be simple and easy to understand.

Every element of the card says something about you.

If you have a logo that has certain specific colors, you should use those colors when designing your business card, the way you do with your personal website and portfolio.

Most people have their business card landscape, but you can have yours as portrait if you like.

The size of the business card matters a lot. It should be around the size of a credit card, so people can carry your business card around in their wallet. There is a certain specification for business cards in different countries. I got the following information from Wikipedia. All the units are in millimeters.

ISO 216, A8 sized

74 x 52

Ireland, Italy, United Kingdom, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Belgium

85 x 55

ISO/IEC 7810 ID-1, credit card sized

85.60 x 53.98

Australia, Denmark, New Zealand, Norway, Taiwan, Sweden

90 x 55

Japan

91 x 55

Hong Kong, China, Singapore

90 x 54

Canada, United States

88.9 x 50.8

Iran

85 x 48

Argentina, Brazil, Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, Israel, Kazakhstan, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine, Bulgaria, Latvia, Mexico, and South Africa

90 x 50

Here are some examples of creative business cards I’ve found online.

Visit these links to check out more creative business cards:

http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/business-card-design-100-creative-examples-useful-tutorials-and-templates/

http://freelanceswitch.com/general/18-smokin-hot-business-card-designs/

http://creativebits.org/cool_business_card_designs

http://www.youthedesigner.com/2009/01/23/30-new-slick-business-cards/

And here’s a link to top 12 business card design tutorials:

http://ibrandstudio.com/tutorials/top-12-grungy-business-card-design-tutorials

So I applied my personal branding from my website:

…to my business card:

I decided to have my card one-sided because I’m still a student and this will cost me less and it will also be easier to print. The size of my card is the UK size (85 x 55), as I’m a student in the UK.

Leave a Reply

