Ogilvy on Advertising

I just borrowed this book from class. I’m still reading it though, I haven’t finished the book yet.

However, I did find out some facts that made me feel a little mind-raped.

The biggest one is this: Ogilvy’s famous advert for Rolls-Royce with the most famous headline in car advertising history:

Ogilvy was reading information on Rolls-Royce cars when he stumbled upon this line “At 60 miles an hour the loudest noise in the car comes from the electric clock” then thought nice, ’tis a great line, then he used it has the headline of his advert which became one of the most famous adverts of all time.

I guess you just have to be the right person, in the right place, at the right time. I think I heard from somewhere that creativity requires being able to recognize a good idea. But why do I still feel a little betrayed?

Leave a Reply

