Ryanair advert

The other day I bought The Guardian from Tesco. The main headline was about the Pope’s visit in the UK.

The article was great; very analytical. As the article ended, I flipped over to the next page to find an advert from Ryanair.

It says: “The cost of the Pope’s travels and organising his events will be £15million” –www.dailymail.co.uk/news

Then there’s a huge picture of the Pope with his arms wide open to the world and a big smile on his face. There’s also a speech bubble saying “SHUDDA FLOWN RYANAIR!!”

Then the advert suggests: “Save taxpayers money. From £5 one way. Travel in October. Ryanair.”

I had to laugh out loud to the humor. But also was speechless at the boldness and edginess of the idea.

Personally, I think this is one of the best adverts I’ve seen in a while. It stopped me for a minute and all I had to do was to read over and over and laugh. I’m still talking about it to people I meet. I mean, who can disagree?

I Googled the advert and found out it was only published on The Guardian. The target audience of the advert is probably educated people who are up-to-date with news and politics (who are mostly atheist), which from what I’ve heard is the reader of The Guardian.

Update: Here’s the advert

One comment

  1. ahsa insurance · October 6, 2010

    Hey Brianna, I don’t think so??

Leave a Reply

